Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2014, 02:18 AM   #1

New and looking for a bit of advice

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the scene. My dad used to live in a van when and I've been fascinated by he idea since I was a kid. I'm now 36 and just recently started seriously considering the idea and I was hoping you guys could help me with a few tips.

So here is what I want to do. I would like to purchase a bus and convert it to live in. The goal is to not travel in it, but have it parked most of the time. I would prefer something I would convert myself. Any suggestions on what I should look out for or a good place to start ( besides this amazing forum would be really helpful. I would like to keep the entire budget between below 10000.00. Thanks in advance and feel free to ask any questions.

felineplunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:05 PM   #2
Skoolie

Re: New and looking for a bit of advice

If your not going to move it much, just find the right bus body wise. If you look for a specific engine and transmission it can make the price of the bus pretty high. The bus isnt even the most expensive part on a lot of builds. Wherever you are from, insulation is something that you will need, and that alone can cost over 2 grand easily. Are you looking for a short or long bus? Flatnose or conventional (dog nose)? Being parked most of the time, I am guessing you are going to have shore power most of the time, so you probably dont need a generator, that is a expensive item. Make sure to read a lot of build threads. For a bus, if you want one cheap, Craigslist, and goverment auctions (Publicsurplus.com, govdeals.com, ect) are good places to look.
jmar896 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:53 AM   #3