Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-24-2011, 10:16 AM   #1
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/AT545
Re: Newbie question: 'seasonal camping'?

No replies yet? You might try the "escapees" forum which has more active discussion of camping issues. This skoolie forum is primarily used for discussion of bus building. I have little personal experience with skoolies and campgrounds but from what I've read I will say that the rules for how long you can camp, under what conditions, etc. seem to vary from one place to another. Private campgrounds do sometimes deny access to skoolies since they want a generic white bread RV environment. State and national campgrounds seem to be welcoming of skoolies but have limited time stays (usually 2-3 weeks), and then you have to leave for a period of time (usually a month?) before returning. $550/mo. is very expensive. Here in Central Texas I see most places are closer to $300 per month for full hookups and unlimited stay in a private RV park.

viewtopic.php?t=4959
Diesel Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:22 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72

Ahh 20 something year old kids living in school bus. Ya damn Hippies! Welcome to the club.
Like Dan mentioned, this site is a little more slanted towards the mechanics of skoolie conversions vs actual camping.

With that being said... I have had pretty good luck finding skoolie friendly camp spots via Craigslist. Pretty much just people with either a spare piece of land somewhere or the "lower 40" that they rent out. Most of what I have found has been dry camping but a few spots I have found had hook ups. Pretty reasonable pricing too, depending on what part of the country you are looking at.

It might be worth a look.