Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-26-2014, 05:30 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1995
Coachwork: BlueBird
Engine: Big Block
Any and all advice welcome on my 96 Bluebird short bus

Hello, everyone my name is Ashlee and I am just getting started on my new short bus conversion. It's a rough machine but I'm taking on the challenge. So far I have taken out the seats and ripped up the rubber mats (they were in real bad shape and I needed to see if there was any damage underneath. It's just an empty canvas now. I am looking into solar panels, electrical wiring, and insulation next. I have a question, if anyone has a suggestion, Should I strip down the inside metal and insulate from there, or is that an extra step that would be too much hassle? Could I insulate the walls and ceiling onto the metal already present? I will be living in harsh winter climates during the season so I do need it to be insulated, also, the floor as well, what kind of method is best? And does anyone have a preferred solar panel type of company that they would recommend? I truly appreciate everyone suggestions and I plan to get plenty of ideas from other's projects thanks!

MissJaneStrummor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 08:40 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Any and all advice welcome on my 96 Bluebird short bus

Budget?

I say pull it all, and spray foam.

The workout of pulling the interior is what seals the bond between the owner and the bus. It's like changing your baby's poopy diaper

Nat

Patently waiting for the apocalypses to level the playing field in this physiological game of life commonly known as Civilization
nat_ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 01:31 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke