Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2014, 11:31 AM   #1
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Low cost, Great looking moderan Tile Couter tops.

As a contractor, I have installed close to 200 counter tops over the last 5 years. I don't use cement board, or mortar beds anymore, as they are a out dated, less effective systems.

These are the systems I use. After completing a install yourself, you will love this system.

This first video still uses ply wood as a sub strait. Schluter®-DITRA uncoupling membrane is installed on top of the plywood to protect the tile covering from expansion and contraction, and water proofs the surface to protect the plywood below from water infiltration.

This system eliminates the wood all together, eliminating the chance of water infiltration causing mold.
The Schluter KERDI-BOARD is available in thickness from 1/2" to 2". The 2" is what is used as counter top substrait.
This system is more suitable for bus installations due to the weight savings, and vibration resistance.

IMO best tiles to use are a high gloss, polished porcelain tile, as it is the hardest of the man made, sealed products.
My favorite size are the 24 x24, and the 12 x24. This looks amazing with few grout lines.

I could do a video, but I feel it's pointless due to how well the manufactures video's are made.

Nat

Patently waiting for the apocalypses to level the playing field in this physiological game of life commonly known as Civilization
nat_ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:21 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Crown / Pusher
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Re: Low cost, Great looking moderan Tile Couter tops.

Is this something only available up north? I checked Lowes & Home Depot & couldn't locate it. I'm in California
Stu & Filo. T is offline   Reply With Quote