Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-04-2014, 09:18 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
*Two Birds* - 1992 Bluebird TC2000 - Updated 10/20/14

I will change the thread title once I get home and my partner and I name our bus!

My girlfriend and I have been looking for a bus for some time now. For nearly a year, we have been browsing the market, and seriously pursuing our "perfect bus" for a few months now. We thought we had a bus lined up and I flew from Michigan to Florida to buy it a couple weeks ago (I had seen it in person before), only to have issues surface during the test drive that began pointing towards a faulty injection pump

Then, I drove to Kentucky and Tennessee (for a week of concerts... I am a musician) and proceeded to call a gazillion school districts, visit a dealer, and scour craigslist for miles and miles, only to turn up nothing.

Finally, a bus popped up that we liked. It happened to be near where I am doing concerts this weekend and everything looked promising. I arranged a few days ago to meet with the seller and then yesterday, met with him and the bus felt like the one right away! I spent a few hours going over it, started it up, etc. I didn't get to drive it, because it's still technically a school bus... but I did pass it while they were driving it on my way into town to check it out, so I know it's roadworthy!

It meets all our criteria. We were looking for a flat-nose, preferably Bluebird, low miles, little to no rust (hard to find in Michigan), 5.9 cummins w/ Bosch P7100 IP (best pump for veggie oil conversion), 28-35 ft, clean, etc.

What we found:
-1992 Bluebird TC2000 FE (We need access through a rear door)
-34' long
-Cummins 5.9 w/ Inline Bosch P7100 pump - Some sites say they didn't put these pumps on the '92 5.9 cummins, but I have seen them on two '92 Bluebirds