Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-05-2008, 06:43 PM   #1

Year: 1973
Coachwork: Gillig
Engine: 1160 Cat
Rated Cap: 35
1973 Gillig Problems--Low RPMS and Will not accelerate

Hey everyone, I just got my hands on a 73 Gillig with an 1160 caterpillar engine...it had been sitting with the previous owner for 4 years being used as a spare room. It has not been run in a while, except for the few times I have taken it out. I am totally new to a rig this size, and wanted it to 1) Save on rent (I am only 21 and am trying to live as cheap and eco-friendly as possible) and 2) Travel around for cheap...essentially I am on budget living trying to fulfill some dreams...the thing in itself is a beauty...despite all the aggravation it has caused me already i love it regardless. Recently it started crapping out on me all of the sudden. It was running fine and then after a small collision with a back bumper of a subaru (suffice to say I still need to tame the horse before I take it out), and then it started acting funny. I may have burnt out the clutch...it smelled like it atleast but its a brand new clutch and I just don't think thats it. The problem is that when it is in first it does not accelerate or reach high RPMs. It just kind of rolls at maybe 10 mph. I am not the most mechanically savvy person but I am a quick learner and have until summer to tinker with it in hopes of getting it ready for a trip through Central America. Can anyone give me some advice. I need some wisdom from some skoolie vets. This baby needs some love, help me figure it out. Thanks and its a pleasure to join the ranks.

furthurNbeyond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 07:58 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Re: 1973 Gillig Problems--Low RPMS and Will not accelerate