Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2014, 03:29 PM   #1

Year: 1989
Coachwork: Ford
Chassis: ?? Help!
Engine: Ford, need details!
Angle grinder attachments for paint removal?

Hi there,
I am a metalworker who is handy with the tools of my trade, but I am totally new to using them in this application. I also know nothing about geary stuff and would be incredibly excited if one of you Western North Carolinians ever wanted to come take a look at my bus under the hood and tell me something about it. Anyhowwww....

Can I remove all the old ugly yellow and black paint with the wire cup angle grinder attachment? I realize this would take a lot of time, but I'm ok with that if it gets the results I'm hoping for. One reason I am interested in this option is because I may want to just leave the whole body colored silver and apply some sort of patina along with hand-wrought metalwork welded onto the outside, completely instead of painting it over again.

Please advise! I'd love to be able to just hit it with the tools I already know best and own. Am I going to ruin something? Thanks!

--Q&A

PS: This is my first post, and the site is not allowing me to search. Pardon me if my question is super redundant.

quillandanvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 03:50 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
Re: Angle grinder attachments for paint removal?

Why do you want to take it off? Just scuff it up and paint over it. In the places where it's bad the cup brush will do just fine. You could use a less aggressive one to scuff the paint. I think if you take it off and paint some sort of clear, IMO you will end up with very uneven coloring. if you do any body work and use bondo those places will be pink or blue.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 05:01 PM   #3