Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2018, 12:28 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Lewis
Chassis: Ford E350
Engine: 7.3L Diesel
Rated Cap: 14
Bolt-Down Help

As I've mentioned in other threads, I'm a total novice. At EVERYTHING bus related. I feel kinda dopey coming on here all the time and asking obvious questions, but I don't know how else to figure this stuff out.

I plan to bolt down all the furniture I put into the bus - this seems like a no brainer to me. But whenever I look at tutorials and so forth, they mostly skip over the details of this part. I don't have a clue how to bolt down my furniture. Is there any way someone/everyone could post a very specific, detailed explanation of how you accomplished this part? The more specific the better, as in, if you say you drilled a hole, can you specify what size/type of bit you used to do it? I jsut need as much info as I can get, and I'm thinking some other might benefit from this, too.

I am using existing furniture chosen for both aesthetic and practical reasons rather than stuff built FOR the bus, so I need to know how/where to attach these pieces.

I had thought about using the original holes where the seat bolts were located to run bolts up through my insulation, plywood, and vinyl flooring up into the furniture, figuring that would be easier than creating new holes. But that won't work everywhere because the holes don't really line up with exactly where I need things to go.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

firebuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 12:48 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
how to bolt stuff down....

I have some questions for you first....

Do you have a 3/8" drill? battery operated or pug into a wall ?