Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-01-2016, 09:15 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 44 or 66? 11 rows
Bubble skylight to get more headroom?

All, rank newbie here...

I'm 6'3" and would like to get a skoolie. But I don't see raising the roof on it for some time due to finances. So to get enough room to stand for getting dressed or showering, could one fabricate a bubble top and make a skylight with it? Yes, you would see me from chin up or some such and it might look odd, but would it work?

Here's the link: The Recumbent Bicycle and Human Powered Vehicle Information Center

Short version, make a heater box and sandwich a big sheet of acrylic inside the top piece. Heat the box, then blow compressed air into the gap between the plywood box lid and the now-soft acrylic.

Dapplecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 08:04 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2002
Coachwork: tc2000
Chassis: blue bird
Engine: cummings 5.9
I've got one in my basement that I thought I would use but have instead filled the roof with a deck, ac, and storage. My sister made them at a company called Multi Plastics in Suwanee Ga. for the McDonalds type playgrounds. I'll see if I can get a photo loaded up soon. I would not try to make one. as sheets of that stuff is expensive, and watching it screw up after building your jig would be like burning 100 dollar bills until you get it right.
scootie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 09:10 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 84
If you decided to go the premade route here is a company that makes all kinds of different sizes.

Replacement RV Skylights from EZ Tops World Wide Inc.

http://www.eztopsworldwide.com/RV-EMT1.jpg
Old 04-02-2016, 10:13 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dapplecreek View Post