Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-24-2017, 12:23 PM   #1

Diesel skoolie that can easily climb mountains

I am new to skoolie. This is the big question as to whether I would consider renovating a skoolie into an RV. Are their any models that will easily climb mountains at least 55mph?

Thanks in advance,
Patrick

dunnenuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 12:29 PM   #2
Traveling

Year: 2003
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: 5.9L Cummins
Rated Cap: '00
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnenuff View Post
Are their any models that will easily climb mountains at least 55mph?
Click image for larger version

Name:	fAstt.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	501.9 KB
ID:	16862

This one will.

There are many others that will race up mountains. The question is how big a bus are you looking for?
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 01:07 PM   #3

Mountains

Thanks for the reply. Thanks m hoping convert a 30 ft or so, maybe about 15 yo 20 years old.
Old 10-24-2017, 01:11 PM   #4
Traveling

Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: 5.9L Cummins
Rated Cap: '00
Quote:
Thanks for the reply. Thanks m hoping convert a 30 ft or so, maybe about 15 yo 20 years old.
I've been told the old Crown buses had big motors that eat mountains. Try one of those.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 01:13 PM   #5

Bus

I did don't see that bus the first time I replied. Yeah, that'll work! Heh heh....
Old 10-24-2017, 01:57 PM   #6
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: MCI
Chassis: 102 EL3
Engine: DD 60
Quote:
Are their any models that will easily climb mountains at least 55mph?
Howdy and welcome Patrick!

You may have to be a little more specific about what you intend to climb and at what weight.