Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2013, 08:10 AM   #21
Bus Nut
 
bapos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleburne TX
Posts: 606
Re: Electrical Questions

Just curious what you guys are doing when your generator has two legs on it? I was talking with an electrician buddy about this and he says most rv style circuit boxes have 2 buses to tie them to? Reason why I ask my 7k watt Onan has this.

I was going to do a transfer switch but I think I am going to opt out of this cause if the price and if you have to manually plug them in you can never have two plugged in at once.
__________________
Here is my school bus conversion thread http://www.skoolie.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10282

Pics of my conversion @ photobucket http://s18.photobucket.com/albums/b1.../School%20Bus/
bapos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:57 AM   #22
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
Re: Electrical Questions

I plan to do the same as you, just "plug in" whatever my source is
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:47 AM   #23
Bus Crazy
 
Diesel Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,489
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/AT545
Re: Electrical Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by bansil
I plan to do the same as you, just "plug in" whatever my source is
Exactly what I am doing. I like the certainty of physically plugging something in, and not relying on a gizmo of some sort to switch power sources.
__________________
Gallery:
http://www.skoolie.net/gallery/v/Skooli ... l_dan_bus/
Conversion Thread:
viewtopic.php?t=4959
Diesel Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 01:12 PM   #24
Mini-Skoolie
 
Henukaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bouse, Arizona
Posts: 55
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Ward Volunteer
Chassis: GMC 6000
Engine: 366 V8 (6.0 L)
Rated Cap: 71
Re: Electrical Questions

I think having the ability to plug in wherever I am is as logical as I can get. However, it does leave me limited as to where I can park. Eventually having a bank of batteries and having a way to charge them (in my case having solar or using the bus alternator) seems to add to my ability to travel and park where I see fit.
__________________
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off
the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." Mark Twain
Henukaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 01:23 PM   #25
Mini-Skoolie
 
Henukaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bouse, Arizona
Posts: 55
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Ward Volunteer
Chassis: GMC 6000
Engine: 366 V8 (6.0 L)
Rated Cap: 71
Re: Electrical Questions

I am also assuming I won't be needing/using the 100 amp breaker that came installed with this panel? I really don't plan on using anything that will necessitate any breaker more than 30 amps, but I'm leaving my options open for possible future additions I may want or need. I'm assuming the 100 amp breaker is for servicing very demanding appliances... therefore I should be able to remove it from the panel entirely, correct?
__________________
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off
the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." Mark Twain
Henukaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 01:42 PM   #26
Bus Nut
 
bapos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleburne TX
Posts: 606
Re: Electrical Questions

Henukaw

the 100 amp you talk about is the total service the box will handle. Could you use that much power in a bus... sure but making sure you calculate your power needs is the most important. Think about it, most rv places don't have more than 50 am service available. So if your going to double it seems to me to be a waste? Yes I like built in flexibility but that's a little over kill. If you need that much service you will probably have to have a temp or sub service pole set to power the bus.

I don't see my bus being much on Shore power very much or often so I am more concerned about how to handle 2 legs of generator power. My biggest power consumers will be 2 ac units. So I will need them on different legs.
__________________
Here is my school bus conversion thread http://www.skoolie.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10282

Pics of my conversion @ photobucket http://s18.photobucket.com/albums/b1.../School%20Bus/
bapos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 02:19 PM   #27
Mini-Skoolie
 
Henukaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bouse, Arizona
Posts: 55
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Ward Volunteer
Chassis: GMC 6000
Engine: 366 V8 (6.0 L)
Rated Cap: 71
Re: Electrical Questions

Yeah, I'm currently watching YouTube videos. I don't know why I didn't think of it earlier. I'm finding I'm making this tougher than it really is.

I found out double pole breakers are for 220 service, single pole for 110... starting to understand what everything within a panel box, etc, etc. I'm beginning to grasp where I was getting lost. This is becoming toilet flush simple now that I'm seeing pictures and watching videos. I'm having a "Duh, dude" moment.

Thanks again for the help. Perhaps I'll post my work when I'm done and add it to the site for future reference others may need.
__________________
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off
the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." Mark Twain
Henukaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:07 PM   #28
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
Re: Electrical Questions

if plugged into 50 amp service you will have 100 amps available (1 50 amp leg of 120v and the other leg is the same way 50 amp 120v) I think most of the 50 amp breakers "trip" at like 45 amps so you can have 90 amps usable if needed
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:50 PM   #29
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,328
Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3
Re: Electrical Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henukaw
I am also assuming I won't be needing/using the 100 amp breaker that came installed with this panel? I really don't plan on using anything that will necessitate any breaker more than 30 amps, but I'm leaving my options open for possible future additions I may want or need. I'm assuming the 100 amp breaker is for servicing very demanding appliances... therefore I should be able to remove it from the panel entirely, correct?
Some panels are designed as a "main" panel; others are designed as a "sub" panel. A difference is that a sub panel has lugs for attaching the cable that feeds power to the panel. A main panel won't have lugs directly on its bus bars; instead there will be a breaker between the bars and the supply lugs. Yours looks like a "main" panel: it's intended that the electrical supply would connect to the terminals of that two-pole 100A breaker. Normally the screw terminal is where the load connects, but some breakers are approved for "reverse" usage where line/supply is on the screw terminal and the blade side is the load.

So, basically, think of that 100A breaker as a screw-terminal adapter for you to feed the electrical supply cable into the panel.
family wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 12:06 AM   #30
Mini-Skoolie
 
Henukaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bouse, Arizona
Posts: 55
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Ward Volunteer
Chassis: GMC 6000
Engine: 366 V8 (6.0 L)
Rated Cap: 71
Re: Electrical Questions

So, I should be able to step it down to 30 amp service, and use the double pole 30 amp breaker in place of the 100 amp I take it...? I was considering going this route as 30 amps would be enough for our needs at this point in time. I'd like to have the vercatility 50 amps brings, but I can easily change that in the future.

I'm currently running four zones, one 20A (kitchen), and then three 15A (entertainment, bath, and living area). This will provide enough room to run everything comfortably around the bus. I like the idea of having a "summer room" supplied via outdoor near the passenger side sometime in the future, therefore the need for some versatility comes into the picture.

Here's the box getting mounted in its new home. I've got enough breakers supplied, so I'll remove what I'm not using to facilitate some extra breathing room.
__________________
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off
the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." Mark Twain
Henukaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions Emerson Conversion Tutorials and How-to's 5 08-24-2014 09:56 AM
electrical questions proconsul100 Electrical, Charging and Solar 5 03-31-2014 02:28 PM
Electrical questions BUSBOZO Electrical, Charging and Solar 10 02-09-2010 11:20 PM
New Skoolie - Electrical questions bikeforthelight Electrical, Charging and Solar 9 08-27-2009 12:07 PM
So many electrical questions Dolores Conversion Tutorials and How-to's 4 07-25-2008 09:48 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.