Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2013, 10:40 AM   #1

Electrical Questions

Hello,

I am looking to purchase a school bus and work on converting it.. I am stuck on one thing.. I am looking into the best way to hook up the electrical. I would like to have it so I can use shore power and generator power. I am not looking to have a converter set up in the bus..

I need direction on doing this, I am a computer programmer as a day job so this is a little bit out of my league but I have always wanted to do this..

Can someone tlel me the best way of doing this and what parts people have had the best luck with?

iowacamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Re: Electrical Questions

You need to read the topic RV Electrical Safety and all the little articles linked to within the thread. Mike Sokol has been kind enough to keep up with the thread and keeps posting more info. BE SAFE!!!!

The easiest way is to run your interior wiring to a small panel box. Plug into the power pole OR plug into the generator. No switches.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D-...0FCP/100148341