Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 08:39 AM   #1
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Year: 1996

Ok so I have a 6500 watt Onan I am going to put on my bus. I am only going to run the AC, a fridge and possibly a Microwave. Not all of them at the same time. Might put some extra plug ins in as well. My question is can I run this directly to a power box? I should be able to wire it just like a house right?
Nicholas5225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:26 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
opus's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,614
Year: 1995
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All-American R/E
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Generator

Yes, just like a house.
opus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 04:10 PM   #3
Bus Geek
lornaschinske's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Roswell, NM
Posts: 3,583
Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Re: Generator

We wired our POS generator to a 30 amp receptacle. We then either plug our 30 amp shore power line either to the power pole at the campsite OR into the generator receptacle. No mistakes, no fancy switches, no screw-ups. Idiot-proof.
This post is my opinion. It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Fulltime since 2006
The goal of life is living in agreement with nature. Zeno (335BC-264BC)
lornaschinske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 11:52 AM   #4
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Year: 1996
Re: Generator

Ok it's me again lol! My generator has two breakers on it. From my understanding it is for running dual air conditioners. I'm thinking about running my AC to a 20 amp outlet directly connected to my generator or shore power. Then running everything else off the 30 amp side of the generator also with shore power capabillities. I will have breaker box for the 30 amp. I wouldnt have to worry about grounding the 20 amp side since it would be directly connected to the generator right? Or should I ground it also?

Nicholas5225 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone need a generator? opus Conversion General Discussions 9 04-10-2012 09:54 AM
generator pete36330 Classifieds | Buy, Sell, Swap 1 11-15-2009 11:33 PM
Where do i put a generator? Joe Monstermaker Conversion Tutorials and How-to's 1 02-16-2009 12:01 PM
MI-T-M generator bdavis441 Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 0 11-06-2005 10:12 AM
AC/Htr and generator lseagro1 Conversion General Discussions 2 10-08-2004 04:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.