Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2016, 01:43 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Help Choosing a Bus

Hi everyone,

This is a fantastic site with a lot of really knowledgeable people. Could I please have your advice on a bus conversion?

Note: I did search around for a thread that answered some or all of these questions. If one like that exists, I'd appreciate the link!

A Little Background About Me
- I'm a mechanical engineer by trade.
- I have a good amount of experience with plumbing/electricity/carpentry. I'm certainly not a master at anything, but I have enough experience to figure out how to do most things after a little google searching.
- Currently living in Northern NJ / Central PA depending on time of year.

My Current Situation
- I've been working on a homemade RV for about a year, time permitting.
- The RV is built up from a new 2014 Worthington aluminum deckover trailer (~14' x 7.5') with custom fiberglass walls, windows, vent, and a skylight. It's watertight and very lightweight.
- I've built the shell and done almost all of the design work for the utilities and interior, but have not built anything other than the shell yet. I've learned to finish designing before I start building.
- As I've progressed through this project, I've come to realize that 98 sqft and 3000 lb GVRW (including trailer, walls, roof, and everything inside) is just not enough for a full-time house for me. It's mostly the weight that I find limiting. The trailer + walls/roof/windows are ~1400 lb.
- My intention is to sell my tiny house shell, purchase a bus, and build all of the stuff I've designed/bought in the bus.

Budget
- I'd like to spend ~$8,000 for the conversion (most of this stuff is already itemized and documented, and some even bought already, so I'm pretty confident in this number)