Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-28-2013, 09:12 PM   #1

Mixing AC/DC

Hi to all,
I am currently in the research phase on helping by brother in law in converting his bus, but need some guidence on mixing AC and DC on the same vehicle. My background is in AC(house wiring), DC(worked at Circuit City in the past installing in the mobile electronics bay various items for 3.5 years) and low voltage(under 24 VDC/AC in alarm systems, coaxial cable, CAT5 in new home construction and HVAC control work). My questions are: 1. Does AC in a mobile environment need to be stranded? 2. When wiring a 120 AC panel to the bus, does the ground/neutral in the panel remain isolated from the bus chassis/does it get connected to the bus chassis(one or both ?)/ does the body of the bus get bonded to the chassis for 'hot skin' prevention(if so, how many places).....? 3. How big of an inverter does he need to run say a small fridge and a microwave while on the road?(1200W-2000W, i'm assuming). 4. How many batteries does he need to have for 'house power' and for the bus itself. 5. Can the AC ground(shore power recepticle) be connected to the DC ground (chassis of bus)or does it remain isolated in the AC panel? Bus is a 1992 Ward Senator(w/ 2 batteries on board at this time for all DC needs).

shutterbug3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 09:24 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Mixing AC/DC

There are some big threads here disusing the stranded vs solid for AC wiring. In my opinion, using stranded is more problematic due to most residential plugs, light switches, ect are harder to connect properly. One loose strand can create a short, all ends need to be soldered. Solid Romex works just fine without all the fuss.