Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Celina, TX (dallas)
Posts: 50
Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevrolet
Engine: 366
Onan generator output

So my onan generator has a 20 and 30 amp 110 volt output. Can I combine this to be one 50 amp breaker somehow?
Soundman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:30 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
opus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,615
Year: 1995
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All-American R/E
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Onan generator output

No.
opus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:46 AM   #3
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon/Philippines
Posts: 1,660
Re: Onan generator output

you should post your generator specifications for help with it...
__________________
Jesus Christ... Conversion in progress.
chev49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:06 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Celina, TX (dallas)
Posts: 50
Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevrolet
Engine: 366
Re: Onan generator output








Here are some pictures of the unit. Trying to get all 50 amps from this unit so we can run both ac nits. They draw 13 amps each. My assumption is that the generator head is putting out all 50 Amos and then it gets split to 2 breakers. Can I intercept it before the breakers and send to one 50 amp breaker? Output wiring is one ground two hots and two neutrals
Soundman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:16 PM   #5
Site Team
 
bansil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MNT CITY TN
Posts: 5,044
Re: Onan generator output

If it has 2 seperate breakers;Why can't you run 1 on the 20amp breaker and run 1 on the 30 amp breaker plus 10 amps of lights etc?
__________________
Our build La Tortuga
Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton
bansil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:23 AM   #6
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Celina, TX (dallas)
Posts: 50
Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevrolet
Engine: 366
Re: Onan generator output

because i want to run everything off of one 50 amp panel so that when i use shore power i dont have to do anything and it is a simple process. 50 amps from genny, 50 amps from shore both feed into transfer switch which feeds panel
Soundman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 10:53 AM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon/Philippines
Posts: 1,660
Re: Onan generator output

i dont have a 6.5 emerald genset, but if the output wires that go to the two circuit breakers are one set of wires, then you can run them to one 50 amp breaker. i assume that it is made this way, cause the other way would require two sets of windings in the generator - one for each of your circuit breakers.

this can be looked up online of course, my guess is that you can just have one 50 amp circuit breaker instead of the two other ones. you have enough amps to run your ac units... i have a 4000 watt onan, and it will run my two ac units, and one is a 13.5 and the other 8000.

i cant tell from your wiring picture, but if it were mine, i would look to see if one set of wires feeds both breakers...
__________________
Jesus Christ... Conversion in progress.
chev49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:47 PM   #8
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Celina, TX (dallas)
Posts: 50
Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevrolet
Engine: 366
Re: Onan generator output

Here is a better picture



So the black wires are the breaker output. The white are input. There is a seperate wire to each breaker from "inside" the generator, but they are also jumpered together. So would I just bring both of these to my 50 amp breaker?
Soundman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:16 PM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon/Philippines
Posts: 1,660
Re: Onan generator output

are both the black wires hooked together like the white ones? if so, only 1 set of wires is running to the genset like mine is. i took the circuit breakers out of mine and just put one large one in line before the automatic switch over switch.

i also changed some other wiring in the panel, as some clearly isn't needed for operation or auto shut down.
__________________
Jesus Christ... Conversion in progress.
chev49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:29 PM   #10
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Celina, TX (dallas)
Posts: 50
Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevrolet
Engine: 366
Re: Onan generator output

My two blacks are seperate. They appear to be the "output" of the breakers
Soundman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
non Onan generators in the bus The Nebuchadnezzar Alternative Fuels | Electric, Propane, Wood Gasification, etc. 4 03-23-2015 01:24 PM
Onan problem chev49 Conversion General Discussions 0 05-01-2012 10:46 AM
Onan 4.0 BFA opus Classifieds | Buy, Sell, Swap 1 09-28-2010 03:56 PM
Thomas Bus normal alternator output mfrederick Conversion General Discussions 3 09-16-2009 01:54 AM
Onan generator swhite832 Skoolie Conversion Projects 2 08-14-2009 12:46 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.