Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2018, 07:28 PM   #1

Year: 2004
Chassis: International
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 30000
Roof Raise and skinning

Help me Skoolie-wan-Kenobi, you're my only hope!

So, after watching the Transcend Existence video series about three times(thank you Wess) I'm about to set out on the adventure of a lifetime and perform the magic of a roof raise. With luck I won't roll a 1 and have the whole thing blow up in my face.

I think I'm comfortable with the raise itself, but I'm rather anxious over the re-skinning. I have little metal working experience and am learning everything as I go along. Seriously, should this work out, my skoolie project is going on my resume.

First question(s):

Rivets. I am so sick of not understanding rivets. I grok the basics, but am lost on the specifics. The soup of different opinions both here and on google have been distressing. Blind, teapot dome, structural...

From what I can tell, Rowsdower is rocking 3/16th" holes. 3/16" rivets are a mite loose, but 1/4"s don't fit t'all. So I'm going with the former. I'm looking to install 18 gauge sheet metal as the skin, but that is the only dimension I am certain about.

Is there a general and safe grip range that anyone could suggest for this portion of the insanity? At around 12 per foot on a 40 foot bus, I'll need over 1200. And with overlapping panels, I'm hoping to have a one-size-fits-most option here.

I've seen many videos where the raisers welded angle-iron to the posts and then riveted the skin to the angle iron. But this requires a ton of drilling. So, would tacking the skin to the angle iron via welding be an option? I bought a welder for this and want to find things to use it on. Plus, I really don't want to drill that many holes in thickish steel.