Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2010, 02:38 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1993
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Safe-T-Liner MVP
Engine: CAT3116
Bailey Bus Bunedoggle

Hey all!

I've been coming here and reading about Skoolies for about 5 years (or more). It's finally my turn to post!

I picked up my bus on Monday 2/22/10. It's all I think about now It's a 1993 Thomas Safe-T-Liner MVP pusher with a CAT 3116. It's kind of unique in that it had subway style seat, which I think are much easier to take out. There already out actually, except for the ones I'm keeping.

Here's some video on youtube of the first day home:
Outside:
Inside:

As you can see it had overhead storage racks and stainless steel grab poles. The CAT 3116 engine wasn't my first choice but it runs strong and there's only minor surface rust on the bus here and there, no rot. The frame and floor underneath are still black. There's no significant body damage. All the windows are tinted and the bus came white, so I don't even need to paint it, although I plan to paint some accents. Plus, no school bus lighting to remove and cover over.

I'll post some pictures of the bus with the seats removed. I've started a gallery too:
http://www.skoolie.net/gallery2/v/Skoolies/bunedoggle/

I haven't driven it on the highway yet, but the place I bought it from delivered it for me. They followed me home and kept up at 65 MPH. The driver said it drove great. I've driven it around my neighborhood and I was surprised at the acceleration and braking. I expected slower a response in both cases.

bunedoggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:14 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Coachwork: THOMAS
Chassis: SAFE-T-LINER
Engine: CAT 3116
Rated Cap: 83
Re: Bailey Bus Bunedoggle

WOW!! I would say that is just about the PERFECT SKOOLIE!! Raised roof, already painted, belly storage, tinted windows, wheelchair lift door. NICE FIND!!