Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2011, 01:46 PM   #1

Year: 1996
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: International
Engine: 7.3L Diesel International
Rated Cap: 36
Ben and Laura's Bus

Hello, newbie here,

When I was in high school/college I had a minivan with the back seats removed and a mattress thrown in. It was perfect for camping, road trips or general partying. I got married my van broke down and suddenly having a party mobile wasn’t really a priority. I went camping in tents for a while enjoyed it but miss my van dearly, especially as one of these years my wife may talk me into have kids. It was great for a quick 1/2 night stop and on to the next site. I started thinking of buying a small RV, but the ones in my price range were pretty worn and well this is a skollie forum I don't have to explain to you guys why I didn't go that route. Then one day I got the (brilliant) idea of converting a short bus to a quick camper. A quick search on the internet and a stumble upon skoolie.net and I was hooked, hard. I few days later the mrs was on board.

I wanted a shorter bus but full size, not a Ford E350 or something like that, so I just bought a '95 Internation bus with Bluebird body. Its a 6 windower with the 7.3L diesel. I have been pretty tied up with other things but after about a month we just finished gutting it and putting down the new sub-floor (1" foam insulation under 1/2" plywood). So far It's been a great project and now that we're building instead of demolishing and cleaning I think it will only get better.

Home base is up here in Ontario, so there was some minor rust on the floor, but nothing to worry about. Before I put in the floor a cleaned it good and put down a healthy layer of rust-paint.