Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-17-2017, 11:01 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: AARE 3903
Engine: Cummins 8.3L 12v
Rated Cap: 78
Big 'Bird

Well, we're taking delivery of bus soon so I figured I'd start a conversion thread

About Us:
We're a family of 5 (3 boys, 11, 9 and 3), with a dog and two cats from Phoenix, AZ. We ended up staying in Phoenix about 10 years longer than we thought we would, and are ready to get out of the heat. I'm an Electrical Engineer, and my better half is a Bio-Chemist turned Midwife. By next summer we hope to be selling our house and setting out for a year on the road.

The Bus:
After a whole lot of reading and hunting we found our dream bus at local dealer. It's a 40' 1997 Blue Bird All American Rear Engine activity bus from a small high school up north. Several things really caught our attention on this one. It's got an up-spec'd 300 HP / 800 Ftlb Cummins 8.3L 12v mechanical engine attached to an Allison MD3060 transmission and 5.38 rear end that will march right up past 75mph if you ask it to. The district that owned it didn't have the budget for new buses until a bond passed last fall, so it seems like they had put a lot of work into keeping their buses in good shape. Lot's of newer parts on the engine including the injection pump, and radiator / hydraulic fan, seems to run really nice. Being an Arizona bus we've not been able to find any significant rust on it anywhere. Even the seat bolts came out clean. The full pass through under storage bins were a big bonus. And as silly as it sounds it's probably the tinted transit windows that put it over the top for us. Planning to leave them all in currently.

The Plan: