Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-09-2009, 07:01 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1987
Coachwork: Wayne
Chassis: Chevrolet B-60
Engine: 366 Gas
Rated Cap: 54
Jared's Wayne Chevy

Hi everyone!
I've loved buses since the day I rode my first one in Kindergarden (1983 GMC Ward). Anyway, I've lurked on here for many years and have seen some awesome stuff so I thought I'd add to it with my newly purchased 1987 Wayne Chevy. Basically, this bus was from my district and I rode on many of its sister buses in the fleet. I always loved the Wayne/Chevy look and rode them for about 10 years of my life. The 87 Waynes were all retired in 1999 and I've been kicking myself for the past 10 years for not picking one up when I had the chance. Well, I ran across this one in DC not too long ago and sort of convinced the guy to sell it to me. Anyway he told me for $2000 I can have it. It has a new exhaust, battery and a few other goodies.

At first I was dead set on restoring back to original condition but it seems that it may be impossible to register it and insure it for a reasonable rate in Maryland. I've read every post in the Registration section of this forum so I'm a little put off. I am starting to entertain the idea of converting it tastefully and its actually getting quite excited to start. But regardless, does anyone know anything about Maryland requirements for both the "bus" route and the "rv conversion" route? Where or who do I contact for this?

Thanks so much in advanced!!!!

Attached Thumbnails
1987 BaltimoreCo Wayne Chevy 1 sm.jpg   1987 BaltimoreCo Wayne Chevy 2 sm.jpg  

jaredg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 11:30 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Re: Jared's Wayne Chevy

Ok so not many people from Maryland on here. Thats ok.