Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2018, 08:05 PM   #61
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I fly Solo I can paint my bus bright red if I want to!!!

oh and I can go get more busses too!!!

Flying Solo also ensures im never RIDING the short bus! only DRIVING it!. ha!

cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 08:36 PM   #62
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNW_Steve View Post
I studied Elliotts build and wondered why he cut where he did.

When I got to where I could see the inside of the front cap it looks like they used a generous amount of adhesive in the joint that joins the front cap to the top of the windshield frame.

I am concerned that if I use enough brute force to separate that joint that I may damage the windshield frame or the glass itself.

I am hoping that Elliott will chime in and share his reasons for why he cut where he did and that will give us some insight.
If your plan is to paint anyways I would hit that joint with a propane torch and try and burn the glue out, it's worth a try.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 09:45 PM   #63
Bus Nut

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: GMC G3500 Vandura
Engine: V-8 5.7L Gas
I am actually at the same point you are today. We are deciding to cut at the very top of the windows underneath the riveted top cap. Of course we have very different buses but we feel better not removing the rivets and just cutting and raising the whole top right below those rivets.

The Daily Driver Bus Build
Thomas1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 12:55 AM   #64
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC-2000 Frt Eng, Tranny:MT643
Engine: 5,9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 84
You rang?