Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2017, 08:53 PM   #1

Year: 1998
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: 3000
Engine: dt 466 7.6 L, International
Rated Cap: 72
Removing Side Supports

In order to add RV windows to my bus conversion it seems I'm going to need to remove some of the existing side supports.

How many of those existing side supports can I cut out before I start to lose structural integrity?

I plan to sheet metal both sides and cover all the existing window openings. I figure the 18 or 20 guage sheet metal (not sure which to use yet) will add some support once I rivet or weld it on.

tommyANDwhitney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 09:10 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
"How many can I remove" may be a tough question.

I am not an engineer by ANY stretch so take my advice here with a grain of salt.

I put RV windows in my last bus and had to cut vertical supports. Where I did I "boxed in" the window opening with square tube that was attached to the remaining frame members on each side of the opening and had verticals on each side of the window. Not unlike how you would modify the framing in a house if you were installing a new window that required cutting load bearing studs.

I tried to ensure that I added more structure than I took away.

I hope I explained that in an understandable manner.
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 10:04 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3
This is an awfully busy picture, but it's a sample of how Blue Bird built theirs with transit style windows spanning two bays. There's a C-profile (of sorts) header above and below the window opening. It is bolted to the ribs at each end and the interrupted rib lands on top of the upper header. I don't remember now whether that connection is bolted or welded.