Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-16-2016, 02:22 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Gmc
Engine: 5.7l 350 v8, gmc
Rated Cap: 41 passenger
Roof Deck Project

so over the last 2 or 3 evenings my dad and I have successfully mounted a 20'x8' deck to the roof of my 86 bluebird. and im excited to be able to show you step by step how we did it. my dad is a self employed 30+year carpenter so he was definitely the brains of the operation. this is my first attempt at a "how to" so bare with me. but i know a lot of people are trying to figure out how to get a deck on their bus so many should be happy to see another option.

so first off most of the wood used is pressure treated, but we used a litte ceder as well which you will see. we use these types of wood because water and insects do not effect them.

so to start we figured out where the 4x4 mounting brackets should go, marked the holes, predrilled them(Everything Gets Predrilled before screwing, dont want to slipt anything), and then filled the holes full of silicone calking to reseal the holes before screwing the brackets in.

these are the screws used the mount the bracktes.

used 10 screws in each bracket, these things arent going anywhere. and 6 brackets, 3 on each side.

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/member...cture13335.jpg

next we screwed 33" pressure treated 2x4s into each of the of the brackets. these are longer than we needed but we werent exactly sure how long we needed until we got them up there.

once we figured out the length, just marked and cut.

after that we screwed in the rim using pressure treated 2x8s, and 3" deck screws.