Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2004, 09:02 PM   #1

Seeking Guidance for Mini Skoolie Veggie Project

Hi. I am a soon-to-be full-time activist looking to educate folks in Florida about biodiesel technology and other impt. issues. I am selling my house Aug. 6th and need to find a new "home". My idea is to find a mini-skoolie diesel bus and convert it to SWO technology and to live out of the bus while doing activist work around the state and country.

I am just learning about veggie fuel and know that retro-fitting the interior of a skoolie can be challenging (especially if you are not mechanically/carpentry trained!). I would appreciate help in the following:

1. Where I should go for an education and hands-on training in biodiesel/bus mechanic info. Is there a workshop or group that could teach me what I need to know?

2. Is there a group or company that I could pay for (and help do the physical work even) to do a conversion of the interior to make it livable and functional for my educational purposes? I am useful when I have the knowledge and tools to do the work.

3. Could anyone steer me in the right direction as to what is the best kind of mini-school bus to get for my purposes? I might be traveling cross country from time to time. I want to be able to go take workshops on various community/social/enviormental justice issues so getting the right bus is very important to me.

I REALLY WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR HELP GETTING ME TO REACH MY GOALS !!!

Many thanks !!!

Namaste'

mindy

"When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers and for a time they seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall -- think of it, ALWAYS" Mohandas K. Gandhi
mindystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 10:23 PM   #2
Bus Geek