Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-20-2011, 02:56 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Smitty's conversion - questions

Smitty,
I was following your build on "the other site" and love what you've done. Between your project and looking through this site,I've changed my direction from wanting an HDT and 5vr to building a former school bus into my ideal camper setup. I have a few questions about your project since I'm just learning about the school bus setups:
Awesome build and craftsmanship! I like the K.I.S.S. principle as well and your build fits the definition to a T! Hope you get many years of comfort and enjoyment out of it. Several questions as I ponder by future project:
1) What was the final cost to build and how long did it take? (To me this beats a million dollar coach because it's build to your needs at a reasonable price)
2)id you install a/c in it?
3 I assume the body sheet metal is aluminum. How did you fasten the steel roof racks to the sheet metal to ensure a water tight fit?
4 What's the top speed of the bus? (I assume it's geared low since it's a school bus made for city driving)
5 For the sheet metal panels covering the raised sides, what material are they (aluminum or steel) and how did you attach them to ensure they are weather tight?
6 This is just something I'm curious about - since the engine is a diesel, can a jake brake be installed on it to allow for safer driving in the mountains?

Once again, awesome work by a humble guy! Hope I get to see you passing by one day so I can see your awesome rig. Safe Travels!

dgorila1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 05:04 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Smitty's conversion - questions

dgorila1,
Unfortunately Smitty has been MIA for a few months now. I am sure once he returns he will be able to answer a few of your questions.