Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2012, 10:37 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Crown by Carpenter
Chassis: Ford B-800
Engine: 5.9L Cummins
Rated Cap: 55
Total newbie, some pointers?

Hi,

Just yesterday I got the crazy idea to convert an old school bus into an RV so I can live year round, do my own off-grid living, and do something a bit more portable than building a yurt or other temporary shelter. I would like a 70+ seater so I can make it my entire year-round home for myself and my 3 children (7,9,11 years old).

I found a handful of conversion books on Amazon, but am curious more about where I should go from here.

I have probably about $5,000 to spend on the raw (unconverted) bus, and would convert it over time. I would probably drive it a little bit, but mostly keep it on a piece of land to convert it to the RV. I plan on making it entirely off-grid, and able to do it in remote campsites, etc without hookups.

To start, I'm curious about the following:

1) What are some decent bus manufacturers and engines I should be looking out for? I have seen Blue Bird and International buses, and they all seem to have Ford 8 cylinder diesel engines. Are there others I should consider?

2) I have some experience working on Mercedes 80's 5-cylinder diesel cars (300 inline series), and have found "Troubleshooting and Repairing Diesel Engines" by Paul Dempsey for reference. I'm wondering if engine wise things are that much more complicated? Or is it just a larger engine? Are they hard to work on, requiring taking things apart to get to odd spots, like is typical on an automobile or minivan?