Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2016, 11:08 AM   #1
Bus Nut

18" roof raise

If i want to raise my roof 18" how long do my steel supports need to be? i plan on using one eighth inch steel to do so, a box c shape. Would 6' long pieces maintain the integrity of the body? Also how many welds or rivets need to be used above the cut and below the cut? right now i am thinking of inserting below the window line.

pengyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 12:04 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freight-shaker (Freightliner)
Engine: Cat 3126b 250 HP
Rated Cap: Only 1 seat
I'm not an engineer, but I think 6' pieces may raise your roof a bit more than 18"...

I would suggest for every 2 inches you raise it, add 1 inch of overlap on top and 1 inch overlap on bottom. As far as fasteners are concerned, I'd guess 1 every 3 inches in each side top and bottom.

C channel may not be the best way to go, a lot of folks on here prefer to have a fabricator make the original "hat" channel only wide enough to fit over the cut pieces.

Disclaimer - I am not a professional, so what I say is not a guide, but more of a food for thought response. I am only responsible for my own shenanigans!
Docsgsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 12:46 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Yes that would be 4.5 feet of overlap. i have no idea what is too little or too much. because i will be cutting the sides a foot from the floor of the bus, it will have a lot more weight to support than if i cut above the windows. Also i will be replacing two of the original windows with a single window in some places , maybe even 3. Are rivets as effective as welds?
Old 03-12-2016, 04:45 PM   #4
Bus Nut