Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   School Bus Conversion Resources > Bus Conversions > Conversion General Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 10-16-2016, 07:35 PM   #1

About to dive off the deep end and start my skoolie adventure but need a bit of help

First time posting, hoping to join the ranks of owning and building a skoolie soon but i need some help from all of you.

I'll be posting this to both reddit.com/r/skoolies and to skoolie.net

Preface:
I'm currently a college student with 2 years until I graduate, been wanting to convert a skoolie for a while but usually logistics and cost have been preventative of that.

Scenario:
The other night found a bus on craigslist, International 3000/3800 i believe. This model, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_3000 listed to have a DT466 (Doesn't say E, so should be full mechanical i think?) and Allison transmission.

Seller want's $500 since some kids broke into the bus and stole batteries, fuses, and a few relays.

Issues:
I'm not totally sure what i need to look for. The bus is within 30 minutes of my parents house and about 2 hours from my school where I live for the winter.

1. Storage : At home we live on a cul-de-sac so if the bus were painted a neutral tone (brownish, something to blend in) the neighbors might not complain since only we and another can really see the road. At school we have an auto club, which has a shop with some parking available. A local resident owns the property and donates it's use to us, in the sense that he writes off our monthly rent as a donation and we pay for utilities. I may be able to keep it here as long as it's not in the way and probably also repainted something other than "look at me everyone i'm a big bus" yellow.