Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-04-2018, 07:16 PM   #1

Year: 1997
Engine: Cummins 5.9L
AC or DC? 😱

Hello everyone!

My girlfriend and I recently purchased a 1997 Thomas flat nose and are getting our conversion underway. It’s about the time to start roughing in my electrical system. I have a lot of experience with AC current as an electrician and I’m leaning towards running everything at 110v.

I’ve had some people say that there is a considerable loss of output having to invert from DC to AC, but, since I do have the AC experience I’m leaning that direction. Does anyone have any experience to shed some light on the pros/cons?

I’m planning on having the solar charge my battery bank and run everything off of an inverter. I do, however, know that some appliances will run more efficiently off of DC since I won’t have any 220v without being a little creative. Any input is appreciated!

Thank you in advance!
IG: @hippie_hustlin_bus
@boerseunbiltong

Hippiehustlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:29 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E 7.3L
My bus is all 12V except the 10.1 cu ft fridge running off a 1500 watt pure sine inverter. All my lights, water pump, TV, stereo, fans, etc are all 12V. I only have (2) 100 watt solar panels charging (2) 6V golf cart batteries wired in series giving me 12V and 235 amp hr. I do not have a generator and only "plug in" I have is a cord for my fridge when parked at home. I have camped and boondocked many times and had no problems except on our maiden voyage when the fridge door came open on an hour ride depleting my batteries, but they recovered the next day no problem.

Running everything 110V is going to require lots of solar, lots of batteries, and a huge inverter, but that is how some do it and it seems to work for them. Good luck!