Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-17-2018, 06:01 PM   #1

advice for first bus please!

Hi, im new to everything school bus related and am currently in the process of finding the right bus for me, I want to live year round in the mountains. I might have found a doable option but feel the price is to steep. It is a 2001 T444e with an Allison 3060 and 170,000 miles on it for 6000$, the body is in nearly perfect condition and its has been taken care of by a mechanic ever since it left the bus barn. With all that being said I still feel like the general price range for the T444e is somewhere around 3,000-4,000$ and I would be overpaying by a few grand if I went with this choice but my issues is that I am having a hard time finding many good school bus options in Oregon, they seem to go so fast and im pressed for time to find a bus sooner rather than later. Any help or advice would be great, thank you.

busconversion101` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:52 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: T/C 2000 28 foot Handy Bus
Engine: Cummins 5.9 Mechanical
Rated Cap: 2
Pressed for time? Pay the man.
Rivetboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:35 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
That's what happens when pressed for time, you end up paying double to get the same bus from a dealer that doubles the price when they get it on the lot. There are some advantages to buying from a dealer but I'm not sure IMHO if they are worth the extra dollars. I have found Oregon has an abundance of good deals and would have bought several I looked at had they not been so far away.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:38 PM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 1986
Coachwork: Gillig
Chassis: Phantom
Engine: CAT 3208
Rated Cap: 87, says Gillig...
Quote: