Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-10-2016, 07:11 AM   #1
Skoolie

Air brakes slow to release and squealing

Hi my airbrakes stick and squeal when ive had to start up and move the.bus immediately like when trying to avoid a street sweeper ticket. It happens when im at 120 psi is this the sign of up coming trouble? It's a scary feeling but once she is warmed up they release just fine. I figure being able to stop is more important than being able to go,especially because my road dog is my 4 year old son

Sunbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 11:37 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 14
I am a driver by profession and I have a tanker trailer that does this - it has a slow air leak and the air tanks have to recharge before the brakes will release, typically at around 60-80 PSI (in the trailer). If your air tanks are at 120 and the brakes are still slow to release (more than 2-3 seconds), you may have a restricted air line to the parking brakes. Many trailers have a "brake control valve" that can do this as they age; not sure if buses have these or not. The service brake has a separate air line so stopping should not be affected if this is the problem. I would also make sure the air tanks are drained of moisture. Air systems typically have a "wet" tank and 1 or 2 "dry" tanks, all of which should be purged periodically, especially in cold weather. The "wet" tank should be purged every time it is driven (many of them have automatic valves that do this), for daily drivers, it should be part of a daily routine, usually done when shutting down in the evening.
Brad_SwiftFur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 12:12 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
If you hear the street sweeper coming it's already to late. A car, yes. A bus just takes more time to move.