Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2018, 11:37 AM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 464
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Allison Tcm md 3060

Amy help finding this tcm? Allison wants $2800.00 and used they are $1200.00 i only paid $2500.00 for the bus. It didn't go bad it fell out of it's harness and i drug downthe highway until it failed. Help!!
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:02 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,521
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
My previous response got lost. I have a 6 speed TCM for a MD 3060. What are the numbers on yours? $425
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:50 AM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 464
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
These are the numbers an Allison mechanic told me were previously used on my tranny.20180807_074911.jpeg
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:54 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 464
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Mine was a 5 speed. Not sure if i can use a 6 speed tcm. I don't know that much about it. He told me i would need a test to see if it had 6 in it.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 08:05 AM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,404
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
Mine was a 5 speed. Not sure if i can use a 6 speed tcm. I don't know that much about it. He told me i would need a test to see if it had 6 in it.


The TCM will work either way, but you need to flash the CIN. It is basically the programming of the TCM and is application specific.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 08:11 AM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 464
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I'll let you know. I had some other possibilities yesterday. Thanks
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 08:56 AM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,521
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
Have a normal 5 speed as well came of cat3126.
Just thought to mention the 6 speed because people like that upgrade.
The5 speed md3060 tcm is $ 275.

Later j
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 09:11 AM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 464
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
The Allison tech told me the tcm didn't decide how many gears it had. Are you saying that you have to have the 6 speed tcm to get the upgrade? Because he said almost any tcm would work for a 6th gear. He also said he had to do a test to see if it had 6 gears. I get more confused by the minute
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 10:07 AM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,404
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
The Allison tech told me the tcm didn't decide how many gears it had. Are you saying that you have to have the 6 speed tcm to get the upgrade? Because he said almost any tcm would work for a 6th gear. He also said he had to do a test to see if it had 6 gears. I get more confused by the minute


The TCM is just a computer. It runs whatever program is loaded into it. You DO need to make sure that the model of TCM is compatible with your transmission, since the 3060 covers quite a few years and more than one model of TCM was used. But beyond that, whether or not the TCM is 5 or 6 speed is just firmware. For my bus, they downloaded new firmware (CIN) that enabled 6th gear. The test that the technician talked about was to verify whether or not your particular MD3060 is physically capable of engaging sixth gear Some are and some are not.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 11:14 AM   #10
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 464
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
That is what i was leaning towards. Thanks for clearing that up.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 08:45 PM   #11
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Do you know of where someone could find a CIN number from a 6th gear enabled transmission? My local Allison shop said to grab him a 6th gear enabled CIN and he can program my TCM without involving Allison.
WillL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 09:19 PM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,404
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillL View Post
Do you know of where someone could find a CIN number from a 6th gear enabled transmission? My local Allison shop said to grab him a 6th gear enabled CIN and he can program my TCM without involving Allison.


What is your drivetrain?
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 10:23 PM   #13
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 5,757
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillL View Post
Do you know of where someone could find a CIN number from a 6th gear enabled transmission? My local Allison shop said to grab him a 6th gear enabled CIN and he can program my TCM without involving Allison.
I need to know where that shop is....... I see a road trip in my future
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 10:24 PM   #14
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 8,522
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillL View Post
Do you know of where someone could find a CIN number from a 6th gear enabled transmission? My local Allison shop said to grab him a 6th gear enabled CIN and he can program my TCM without involving Allison.
Where are you located? What Allison shop? That solution has been tossed around and can also be done through Allison if they think it is being programmed for a open 6th gear model. I would behoove a shop like that to acquire a compatible VIN and pick up a bunch of computer business. I know I'm in line.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:29 AM   #15
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,228
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
you need a CIN for a 6th gear enabled with the same throttle type, and an engine that has similar torque and RPM range as well.. one place to look is on TPI , Vaanderhaags, etc.. search for the same generation of MD3060 TCM as yours and often they print the label and sometimes the VIN number of the truck it came off of.. you can run the truck VIN on a VIN decoder which will show the engine it had.. and your allison shop can run the CIN report on his allison software which will show what gears are enabled.



if the VIN shows as another school bus move on its likely a 5 speed..



I grabbed some different tunes for my allison 1000 in this manner and burned them to TCMs I have laying around (sorry i dont have any 3060 TCMs).. and they work..


-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 01:23 AM   #16
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Joe,

If you still have the 3060tcm, Id like to buy it

Jason 805-701-8453
Ranger magnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 03:20 PM   #17
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 5,757
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeblack5 View Post
My previous response got lost. I have a 6 speed TCM for a MD 3060. What are the numbers on yours? $425
What year model did it come out of? Did it come from a bus or a truck?

Thanks.
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 06:42 PM   #18
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,521
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
So, I have 2 TCM for the 3060.
One is a 6 speed tec3 tid 2governed 2400 rpm unknown engine.
I bought this used thinking that my B300R is a version of the 3060. I did not try it after I figured out that that there are small differences in tid2 and tid3 version.


The other is a 5 or maybe 6 speed. It came out of a truck with cat 3126 engine. It is very dirty and I can not read any numbers on it.


Johan
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 07:19 PM   #19
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,228
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the B300 and 3000 series are similar in theoretical operations.. but the big big thing to be careful of when mixing and matching TCMs.. is the TAPs.. its the pressures and timin gs used to apply the clutches.. there are different apply pistons and servos in the different model trans..



a screw up with the TAPs can mean excessive flare shifts... (rev and slam).. or the killer which is Binds.. Binds are where 2 clutches engage at once.. thats how you tear up the friction discs or worse yet snap shafts and drums..



I definitely wouldnt use a TCM with a CIN number from a different model trans..



B300 to B300 = OK, 3060 to 3060 = OK.. if the shift calibrations are off then you get undesirable shift points but you dont breakl the transmission..





ive seen the carnage of the duramax guys tring to go old school redneck and make their allison 1000s 'shift hard' by messing with the TAPs in EFILIVE...



so just be careful if you swap TCMs model to model... good idea to test under light load with the wheels in the air or the drive shaft disconnected to make sure you dont get any bangs or clanks from the trans...
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 07:18 PM   #20
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 5,757
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
Mine was a 5 speed. Not sure if i can use a 6 speed tcm. I don't know that much about it. He told me i would need a test to see if it had 6 in it.
if OP is not interested in your TCM I may be. Can you give me any direction to figure out if it is compatible with my 2002?

Can anyone tell me where the TCM is on my 2002 Bluebird All American RE with an 8.3 Cummins?

Thanks.
PNW_Steve is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×