Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2018, 10:37 AM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Allison Tcm md 3060

Amy help finding this tcm? Allison wants $2800.00 and used they are $1200.00 i only paid $2500.00 for the bus. It didn't go bad it fell out of it's harness and i drug downthe highway until it failed. Help!!
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:02 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,444
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
My previous response got lost. I have a 6 speed TCM for a MD 3060. What are the numbers on yours? $425
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:50 AM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
These are the numbers an Allison mechanic told me were previously used on my tranny.20180807_074911.jpeg
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:54 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Mine was a 5 speed. Not sure if i can use a 6 speed tcm. I don't know that much about it. He told me i would need a test to see if it had 6 in it.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:05 AM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,403
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
Mine was a 5 speed. Not sure if i can use a 6 speed tcm. I don't know that much about it. He told me i would need a test to see if it had 6 in it.


The TCM will work either way, but you need to flash the CIN. It is basically the programming of the TCM and is application specific.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:11 AM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I'll let you know. I had some other possibilities yesterday. Thanks
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 07:56 AM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,444
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
Have a normal 5 speed as well came of cat3126.
Just thought to mention the 6 speed because people like that upgrade.
The5 speed md3060 tcm is $ 275.

Later j
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 08:11 AM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
The Allison tech told me the tcm didn't decide how many gears it had. Are you saying that you have to have the 6 speed tcm to get the upgrade? Because he said almost any tcm would work for a 6th gear. He also said he had to do a test to see if it had 6 gears. I get more confused by the minute
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 09:07 AM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
david.dgeorge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,403
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: CAT 3126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
The Allison tech told me the tcm didn't decide how many gears it had. Are you saying that you have to have the 6 speed tcm to get the upgrade? Because he said almost any tcm would work for a 6th gear. He also said he had to do a test to see if it had 6 gears. I get more confused by the minute


The TCM is just a computer. It runs whatever program is loaded into it. You DO need to make sure that the model of TCM is compatible with your transmission, since the 3060 covers quite a few years and more than one model of TCM was used. But beyond that, whether or not the TCM is 5 or 6 speed is just firmware. For my bus, they downloaded new firmware (CIN) that enabled 6th gear. The test that the technician talked about was to verify whether or not your particular MD3060 is physically capable of engaging sixth gear Some are and some are not.
__________________
My Build Thread:

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/4-...ner-18205.html
david.dgeorge07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 10:14 AM   #10
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
That is what i was leaning towards. Thanks for clearing that up.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.