Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2010, 01:32 AM   #1

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 3800
Engine: DT408, AT545
Rated Cap: 23 500 gvw
Any experience with this toilet?

Walmart has this portable toilet for $79. Seems like an easy way to take care of the toilet requirement for the DMV. Has anyone used one?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Global-Pas...ReviewTitleBar

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 11:16 AM   #2

Re: Any experience with this toilet?

Please explain, I have no experience with a toilet like this. Are you pumping something to make it flush?

You Gotta Let Me Fly
Old 05-19-2010, 09:02 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
Not that particular one, but we had a similar type in our skoolie decades ago, don't recall ever having any problems with it....and there were 7 of us

You could build a sawdust toilet for alot less

Smitty

I know that, but I don't feel like explaining to the DMV inspector why I am pooping into a 5 gallon bucket with sawdust. I want the inspection to go as trouble free as possible.

You Gotta Let Me Fly
Old 05-19-2010, 10:11 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

It's an imitation Port-A-Potty. In states that require RVs to have all the RVIA-type bolted-in permanent facilities, it doesn't count. In states with self-certification, or no particular list of required living facilities, you have a functioning toilet.

Port-A-Pottys split in two. The bottom half is a black tank. The top half is the bowl surrounded by a fresh-water tank. The handle in the middle pulls out to open a shutter between the two. Push the handle in, undo a latch and pull the halves apart. You can now carry the black tank to the nearest toilet or latrine to dump. Carry the top half separately to a water faucet to be filled.