Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-15-2009, 04:19 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1977
Coachwork: International Harvester
Chassis: Loadstar
Engine: V8, Ex-US-Air-Force Bus
Any floor insulation advice?

Hey there! I'm new to bus conversion, and am looking to get my floor installed on my 1978 International Harvester Loadstar (about the size and shape of a short school bus). So far I have the basic metal floor of the bus and roughly 3/4" wood covering that. The wood that's there came with the bus and seems a little like plywood, it may be more dense, but pretty close. Some holes are drilled in the flooring here and there. I want to have a full time life on this thing and am in a commonly wet and cold place. I'm in Washington, but plan to travel in a couple of years. I'm interested in what to use to prevent mold, keep clean, and insulates. I've had suggestions about using more wood. There is a little leakage from the back exit door, so I need something to keep water from getting into the floor and not trap it. I'm interested in your suggestions!

Thanks!
Turtle

Old 10-15-2009, 04:33 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Re: Any floor insulation advice?

Hey,

These threads will help you

Flooring Options
Spray foam under floor
Rusty metal floor
Subfloor Installation
mouse059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 04:48 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Thanks for the ideas macgyver! I agree, I'll be taking care of that leak Is there a certain kind of vapor barrier that works better than others?

Thanks for the links Mouse059! I'll check'm out shortly!

Thanks to both of you,
Turtle
Old 10-15-2009, 05:59 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03