Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2009, 10:20 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1983
Coachwork: GMC
Chassis: RTSII
Engine: 6V92TA
Rated Cap: 55
Send a message via AIM to BBTC2K Send a message via Yahoo to BBTC2K
Any thoughts on Florida regulations

I am relatively new to the state of Florida, and I am still wanting to do my bus conversion. I am looking for for another bus to convert, and I was wondering if there are any specific things that FL requires...such as Paint, lights, stop sign, plates...anything at all would be really helpful...I knew PA law...but haven't found much on FL, other than there are no inspections here...lol

I would appreciate any help...

Shawn

proud single custodial dad to 18yr old son Jeremey, who wants to try his hand at driving my RTS
BBTC2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:03 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 85
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: Ford
Engine: Gas
Rated Cap: 66
Re: Any thoughts on Florida regulations

Hey there shawn. Welcome to the sunshine state. where are you at? i am in lakeland. i just spent some time at the tag office and talked with a supervisor about this. to legally convert it to an rv you have to have at least one of these three things: lp run appliances, some sort of plumbing, or 110 electrical. you cant just stick in an extension cord, it must me a legitimate install, but you only need one outlet. all you have to do is make you own affidavit up and sign it stating you did that and take it with the title to the tax collectors office and they will change the title to rv. so easy huh?
Old 11-19-2009, 06:08 PM   #3
Skoolie

i am just swapping out a tag from the old rv. not sure on the cost. i probably should have asked haha. but i am delivering the old rv to the new owner this weekend and pulling the old tag off of it for the bus. its a vanity plate for my organization so i want to keep her.