Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2019, 02:19 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Bluefire

I got my bluefire. Downloaded the app and registered an account. I connected to it and it asked me to agree to their terms. I hit accept and nothing happens. There is no phone number and every attemptto email them is followed by an error statement. Something about the to column. Agro as heck. I don't get it. Anyone else have one?
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 02:39 PM   #2
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
So i uninstalled it. Installed the app for trucks instead and now it works. I love it. Something is wrong with my fuel gauge tho. It shows an error. NA is what it days. Probably a bad sensor
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 02:43 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Sorry for the panic but it was driving me crazy. Must be a software thing.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 05:45 PM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Posts: 668
Year: 1999
Coachwork: New Flyer
Chassis: D45HF "Viking"
Engine: 11.1L Detroit Diesel S60
Rated Cap: 51,600
Get on their website and post that way. That's what I did when I started playing around with my Bluefire.


I've had great communication with the company.
MarkyDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 05:47 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
They don't respond very quick do they?
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 05:51 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Posts: 668
Year: 1999
Coachwork: New Flyer
Chassis: D45HF "Viking"
Engine: 11.1L Detroit Diesel S60
Rated Cap: 51,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
They don't respond very quick do they?

My experience is that they may not get back to your initial query very quickly, but once you start a conversation they're responsive.


Now, that experience was last year and my bus has been out of commission due to a blown starter solenoid for a bit, so I don't have any recent comms with them (last 6-9 months).
MarkyDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 05:52 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Sorry you are out of commission. Seems like an easy fix tho. They seem like a reputable company
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 06:05 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Posts: 668
Year: 1999
Coachwork: New Flyer
Chassis: D45HF "Viking"
Engine: 11.1L Detroit Diesel S60
Rated Cap: 51,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
Sorry you are out of commission. Seems like an easy fix tho. They seem like a reputable company

I fried the solenoid just as winter was coming on, and I don't get along with freezing temps very well.


So, it may seem easy, but my bus is an RE coach and getting to the solenoid is incredibly difficult. I can't come from the side because of the frame, and I can't come from the top because the davenport isn't wide enough (a "davenport" is a hatch in the floor in the back of the passenger compartment that provides access to the top of the engine).


So, I have to come from underneath. I'll have to chock, stabilize, and jack about 20,000-30,000lbs of my bus, then get under it - something I have never done before, and so not looking forward to it.


As for BlueFire, they have been good to me, but like I said, I don't have "recent" experience with them right now. Once I get the bus running again, I will....
MarkyDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 08:51 PM   #9
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,364
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
The fuel gauge is not sent over the J1708 link in the navistar. It is a separate sender that just Gets wired to the gauge.
I’ve been playing with a fuel gauge app on mine because the estimated gallons per hour is available.
There is a published API and a sample iOS android and windows app, there are more data points to grab. When I emailed them last week about adding HPOP they sounded like they weren’t going to just add data points arbitrarily. You can make your own dash screens and grab from quite a few data points. Just remember not all are supported on our busses, there are hundreds of data points in the published protocol. Many for systems we don’t have.

Navistar cat and Cummins also added their own proprietary data points to the J1708/j1587 stack and those are only obtainable by request of the particular tool. I’ve hacked a bunch of the ones that navistar uses and the only way I can read them is by my program sending out a “please send me PID164l” or such command.
There are can bus enabled fuel level senders but they are pricey.
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 09:22 PM   #10
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 445
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I'm broke down. The starter just clicks. It sputtered and died. And the tranny keeps going out. That might be the connector. It diff that in my old bus. I drove for about 40 miles and it acted up. Now it won't start. I've for a charger on it and it isn't starting still. Sorry to bother you but I'm baffled
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.