Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2004, 02:26 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Bus rambling/newbie question

First off, awesome site....

When I was a freshman in high school I used to ride in bluebird 72 passenger with 5.9 cummins and 4spd autos. I have always been into the mechanics of anything around me so I always made the bus driver pull the engine cover on Fridays so I could look around.

The plan: buy a large bus, make the rear section a flatbed for my truck,
install gooseneck hitch and standard reciever hitch. I also want a full bathroom with shower.

The bus will be used for trips around the country to take my truck offroading and pull another truck on a flatbed. I will also use the bus to haul my friends car to the drag strip and back.

Questions:
My main issues are concerning powertrain. I would like to be able to do 65-70mph on the freeway. (When I road in the blue bird model to school I remember it being able to do 65 on problem...but that was some time ago.)

I am looking at some blue bird 60-80 passenger busses and here are the questions.

Does anyone have the ratios for the Allison AT545 and does it have an overdrive?

Any other options for engine drive train other than the 5.9 cummins/allison? I know that combo is capable of 600+ lb/ft of torque?

What kind of transmission is the A2000?

system-f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 12:09 AM   #2
Bus Nut