Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2010, 08:50 AM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Seeria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 575
Coachwork: Thomas
Buying a bus out of state

Okay no laughing now... unless you really have to

I found a bus I might buy BUT it is out of state. I've never bought a bus before and I don't have a CDL license. Can someone explain to me the process of buying such a big thing?
Do I head over to the other state's dmv (michigan) to change ownership or is that done in my state (wisconsin)? And what about title? Leave it as and pay fees until I can get it changed to RV title and pay more fees?
What about driving it home? That's a good 3 hours drive and me without a CDL license.
Seeria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:00 AM   #2
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: downriver, detroit mi
Posts: 794
Re: Buying a bus out of state

IIRC, if it weighs less than 26,000 # on the title no CDL is required. In Mi a bill of sale is all that is required for a 1 time, 1day transfer, no special license plate or permit required, ust keep the bill of sale/reciept in the bus with you.

For the proper info call and check with the state police in both Mi and Wi, since they will be the enforcement people that you will have to satisfy.
paul iossi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:06 AM   #3
Skoolie
 
dentedvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 236
Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas SafTLiner
Chassis: FE
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 60
Re: Buying a bus out of state

You don't need a CDL.
You can go and buy it, and drive it back, like Paul said, as long as you have insurance, and a bill of sale/receipt/whatever they give you.
Just don't be using the lights, for crying out loud. That is against the law, I have been told. Save that for your yard.
dentedvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:59 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Seeria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 575
Coachwork: Thomas
Re: Buying a bus out of state

Vin says: GVWR Class 26,001 - 33,000lbs.

State patrol guy I last talked to said something about its fine under 26k, anything over requires a cdl license. eep Haven't talked to Michigan SP yet. Not sure the one day transfer drive thing applies in WI. Hate to get a ticket as I have a perfect, spotless 22 year driving record.
Seeria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a bus tesswynn92 Skoolie Conversion Projects 10 08-13-2014 05:24 PM
Buying Across State Lines--HELP! Steve Titles, Insurance, Registration and Money Matters 0 01-20-2010 03:02 PM
After buying... LOrOLR Conversion General Discussions 4 09-08-2009 02:33 AM
Buying a first bus gmkdart Conversion General Discussions 1 08-03-2008 04:00 PM
Buying Bus code4 Skoolie Conversion Projects 18 10-23-2005 05:40 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.