Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2015, 10:53 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
Cable prices

I've been looking around at cables. As those reading other threads will realise, I'm opting for a 30A system that can be upgraded with relative ease to 50A. Upgrading to dual 50A is harder but possible.

Anyway, my investigations have revealed that 15A cable works out at $38 for 50 feet, 30A cable works out at $150 for 50 feet.

That all has me thinking...
If I use two 15a sockets then I can use regular 15A cable. One cable for a 15A supply and two cables plus a 30A plug to two 15A connectors Y adaptor.
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline  
Old 09-09-2015, 11:24 PM   #2
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stony Plain Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,937
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
No no no.

Here you go again trying to make a dangerous mess.

Buy the right stuff, and stop this non sense before you kill yourself or a innocent bystander.

It's been a long time since one person has posted so much fail on this site.

Nat
__________________
"Don't argue with stupid people. They will just drag you down to their level, and beat you up with experience."

Patently waiting for the apocalypses to level the playing field in this physiological game of life commonly known as Civilization
nat_ster is offline  
Old 09-09-2015, 11:25 PM   #3
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 206
Year: 1997
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: Genesis
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 84
The price you have for 30A cable is bogus. At that price you could buy a heavy duty 50' 30A RV extension cord for $75 at Camping World and use that for cable alone.
Timelord is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 01:45 AM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 305
That could work in a perfect world and they would have to be EXACTLY the same length and connectivity inside the plug (which won't happen), but if ANY thing were to happen to that system and one of those 15 amp lines got severed, disconnected, unplugged... you would be pumping twice the rated load through that one cable and plug which would start getting hot fast to the point where the insulation would melt or burn off now leaving you with hot live exposed wires that will catch stuff on fire and start arcing.

Now if it were only your own life, bus, family you were putting at risk by being a tightwad then I wouldn't even care, go ahead cook yourself. BUT what you are doing has some serious implications that could KILL other people, do you understand that?

30 Amp RV Extension Cord - 25€™ - Voltec Industries 16-00558 - Electrical Cords - Camping World

Cut the FEMALE end off and wire that into you breaker box before you kill some one you don't need 50A service in your bus unless you are plugging in a home model electric stove AND a Home model electric dryer that you want to run at the same time.
CaptainInsaneo is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 08:25 AM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Upstate NY (Mohawk Valley)
Posts: 1,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zephod_beeblebrox2 View Post
That all has me thinking...
If I use two 15a sockets then I can use regular 15A cable. One cable for a 15A supply and two cables plus a 30A plug to two 15A connectors Y adaptor.
If you run two 15-amp shorelines to a home made Y-adapter plugged into the 30-amp socket at a campground pedestal, then the 30-amp breaker for the pedestal would not protect the cables from overloading with more than 15 amps on one side.

If each of the two shorelines had its own 15-amp overcurrent protection powering separate circuits on the bus end, then using the Y-adapter would be no more dangerous than plugging a #16 lamp cord into a 20-amp outlet at home.

But the photo of your breaker box submitted on the other thread shows your breakers fed from a single feed to both common bus bars. If you tie both of the split 15-amp shorelines to feed these bars, you have lost all protection for those cords.

What you need is #10 wire. Lowes has a #10 fifty-foot cord in safety yellow for $99.97 (#68598 ). They call it "20 amp" and put 15-amp connectors on it, but you would have to buy the 30-amp RV plug to make your pigtail anyway. This is only $24 more than your two 15-amp cords.

But as CaptainInsaneo has said, you can get the cords with the 30-amp plug molded on already for less at Camping World. The 25-foot length in his link (#78919) is on sale for $36.98, and the 50-foot length (#69601) is on sale for $74.97, three cents less than your wire cost alone without the connectors. It would actually cost you more to do it wrong.
__________________
Someone said "Making good decisions comes from experience, experience comes from bad decisions." I say there are three kinds of people: those who learn from their mistakes, those who learn from the mistakes of others, and those who never learn.
Redbear is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 01:00 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
Bah. Online ordering! Pay out the yahoo for shipping!

I checked a lot of thus online crud and it always works out more expensive. $10 - $15 shipping knocks cheap wire back pretty much to what Lowe's charges.

The breaker box you've seen is the distribution panel. The main breaker is elsewhere. The main breaker is currently set up with a 30A breaker. There is no reason on earth why I can't put two 15A dual breakers in, one for each 15a line then combine them after the breakers. In fact, that's the general plan.

15A cable is more commonly available and far less desirable to the five finger discount crowd.

It also makes it easier to use a 15A supply when 30A is unavailable. Just plug one cable instead of two.
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 01:05 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 539
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: TE 444
Rated Cap: 12
If you tie both feeds from the pedestal to a single bus bar, you will have a dead short in a 240 circuit and at that point you hope the circuit breaker in the pedestal is good since if it does not work you will be dead or have a nice fire. Do NOT take shortcuts with electricity, most motor home fires start because of bad wiring.
Kubla is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 01:08 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Zephod_beeblebrox2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lexington sc
Posts: 482
Year: 1994
Coachwork: carpenter
Chassis: international
Engine: 466dt
Rated Cap: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kubla View Post
If you tie both feeds from the pedestal to a single bus bar, you will have a dead short in a 240 circuit and at that point you hope the circuit breaker in the pedestal is good since if it does not work you will be dead or have a nice fire. Do NOT take shortcuts with electricity, most motor home fires start because of bad wiring.
Think about what you're writing. This is exactly how many 50A setups are done.
Zephod_beeblebrox2 is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 01:56 PM   #9
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 305
NO THEY ARE OUT OF PHASE FROM EACH OTHER THAT IS WHAT THE 4TH WIRE IS FOR. If you tie those into the same phase...

You know what you should store a can of gasoline right next to your breaker box and start smoking at night just speed along your inevitable fire. I have never said this to anybody, go die in a fire (that you will cause). Please let us all know which bus is yours so we can NOT park anywhere near it.
CaptainInsaneo is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 02:04 PM   #10
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,572
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
If you're planning to plug two 15 amp cords into a duplex (two receptacle) outlet you'll only get 15 amps total. Both of those receptacles are fed from one 15 amp breaker. You'd basically be spending a lot of money to get the same functionality as tossing a 15A extension cord out your window.

Guys, we're wasting our time here. Anyone who's read The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy knows that the Zaphod character does everything as outrageously unconventional as he can. These threads of his aren't about getting his electrical system right and they're not about saving money, they're basically just a troll to show us all how clever he is.
roach711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.