Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2006, 12:36 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Diesel Starting Problem - Question

Hi guys,
I know some of you have the DT-360 so I'm hoping you can help me as I have little to no knowledge of diesel engines.

I recently bought a 1984 International S-1700, 27 passenger and the paperwork states it has a DT-350 engine. Thing is, it doesn't want to start without a shot of ether to get it going. In fact, I've never gotten to start without a squirt of go juice first. Maybe I'm not cranking it long enough but when the starter sounds like it's starting to slow or drag I just give up and give it a squirt. Try starting again and after a few rotations it starts right up. I was thinking it might be a glow plug(s) problem but after searching the site it appears it could also be an injector pump or fuel lift? problem. I'm still thinking maybe glow plug(s) as it would take less "spark" to fire off the ether than the diesel fuel. So... can anyone tell me where the glow plug(s) are, how many there are and where I can get replacements as well as what to ask for? Guessing... next to the injectors and 1 per cylinder but better to ask than not. And even if I'm guessing right I still have no idea where I might acquire new ones and what exactly I should ask for and I don't expect the guys at the auto parts stores would be of much help although I could be wrong there too.

BusMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 02:37 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

I always turn the switch on and let the glow plug cycle before giving it a squirt but I know what you mean. That's why I'd really like to get it starting on it's own. The less ether I have to use the better I like it.

Thanks.

Busme
Old 10-27-2006, 07:28 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1987
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 366 Gas