Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2005, 09:30 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1985
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: 366 propane
Rated Cap: 56
Difficulty in changing to air suspension?

Hello all. I am wondering what the ride is like on those busses that are equiped with air suspension. You know, those air bag donut's that are adjustable to accomidate different loads.

The reason I ask is that the ride in my bus is incredibly stiff. I know, it's a bus and I should just suck it up. However I have been reading about them and they seem pretty slick. The idea of making my bus as smooth as a transit bus is appealing. I know my wife would appreciate it.

My bus does not have air brakes, so I would need to install a compressor and a holding tank. But other than that is it much work? I am not a mechanic but am pretty handy.

Is this somthing that would be super expensive?

Or would it be smarter to pick up a couple of used semi truck driver air ride seats? They seem quite pricey though.

Anyways I would love any thoughts or comments.

-Richard

captainkf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 08:01 AM   #2
trx
Skoolie

Year: 1988
Chassis: Chevy C-60
Engine: 8.2L Turbo Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 77
Send a message via ICQ to trx