Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2019, 11:14 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2004
Engine: 7.3L Navistar T444e Diesel
Electric/propane/both???

So, I'm in the process now of planning the bus interior. Trying to decide what type of appliances to go with for the fridge/freezer, stove, etc.

Propane?
Electric?
Both?

We will hook up sometimes, but I want to be able to run my fridge, freezer, stove, etc. off the grid.

Want to avoid 220/50amp.

I have zero knowledge of electrics, solar, or batteries.

I cook, so need more than just a single burner, but don't need a large stove. An apartment size stove will do fine. Not a big fan of microwaves, though the convection ones seem OK. Still, I wonder how they compare to a regular convection oven.

Am also considering this:
https://www.amazon.com/Pizzacraft-Pi.../dp/B00FYO368K

Yes, I like pizza that much!
Says "outdoor", but I wonder if it can be used in the bus, being by the window.

Also, I want to have power to run my computer so I can also write, edit video, animate etc. while boon-docking.

We have a generator, a pull start Predator 4375 from Harbor Freight at the moment. Had great reviews and so far it starts on the first pull every time.

https://www.harborfreight.com/4375-m...ion-63960.html

May add an electric starter kit to our current gen, or get an electric start generator eventually, and have the pull start one as backup-maybe.

Plan on installing solar panels and extra batteries.

May also install a small washer/dryer, and one of those top open freezers.

Cooling and heating will be via a "Mini-Split", with possibly a mini-wood stove as backup for winter. Thinking of 8,000 or 10,000 BTU.
But maybe we can go a little higher, just to be sure the bus will be sufficiently cool or warm.

Wondering what others have experienced regarding appliances, electric, propane...

Thank you in advance for the advice!