Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2014, 11:13 AM   #1
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 147
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-t-liner
Engine: Cat 3126 - MD 3060
Rated Cap: 72
Extension cords for wiring?

I remember someone saying that if you go the stranded wire route, using extension cords can be an inexpensive option. I haven't found and threads where people actually do this. I'd like to, for some stuff anyway. I have extra cords that have been out of commission for a while. Any thoughts? Or links?
ThePimentals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 11:43 AM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
ol trunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,962
Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

I seem to remember Lorna doing that--and writing about it. Why don't you give her a PM, I'm sure she will be able to direct you to her comments.
ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 01:07 PM   #3
Bus Crazy
 
sdwarf36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moodus, Ct.
Posts: 1,054
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Champion
Chassis: Ford e-450
Engine: 7.3 Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 14
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

I have them under my bus to run power to outside outlets. Nice heavy rubber coated ones.
__________________
Don't make a fuss-just get on the bus!

my bus build http://www.skoolie.net/gallery/Skoolies/Sped
sdwarf36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 01:47 PM   #4
Bus Geek
 
lornaschinske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Roswell, NM
Posts: 3,587
Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

We used to do construction and had a lot of really heavy duty exterior cords that we stretched out from the far away temp power pole and ran table saws, planers, compressors and various other tools (sometimes all at the same time). We invested a lot of money into our extension cords as they were very important to our job and we could not afford the down time from burning out a cord or tool. There are many levels of "heavy duty" cords. After Christmas is a very good time to buy those Christmas exterior heavy duty cords. I used to post on a coach forum where I got a lot of info from some pro coach converters. One of these was Fred Hobe of North Florida Coach Conversion. Back when we had the Eagle 05, I exchanged a lot of PMs with him, asking a lot of newbie questions. He was very generous with his advise.

He wired up his coach (and many others) using 12/3 heavy duty extension cords. We did too. They make a nice neat job of the wiring. We also supplimented with the wiring we salvaged from the Eagle (marine quality). So the Blue Bird has a little Eagle in her. We used good quality crimp on connectors where we wired to the outlets and the panel box. Several here object to how we wired up our bus. I will take the advise of Fred Hobe. I know him, his reputation and his work far better than anyone posting here. Most of the info I have gained comes from adapting what I learned on the coach conversion forums and from our decades in residential construction. It's why we call our bus a Residential Vehicle not a Recreational Vehicle. And there is a difference between the two.

http://users.cwnet.com/thall/fredhobe.htm Lots of good info here. Aimed towards highway coaches in general and MCI's in particular. Most of the info can be adapted to skoolies.
__________________
This post is my opinion. It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Fulltime since 2006
The goal of life is living in agreement with nature. Zeno (335BC-264BC)
http://lorndavi.wordpress.com/blog/
http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps0340a6ff.jpg
lornaschinske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 07:17 PM   #5
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central MN
Posts: 141
Year: 1977
Coachwork: Chevy
Chassis: C/60
Engine: 350 V8
Rated Cap: 54
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

I used 10/3 for the 20amp runs and 14/3 for everything else. 12v and 120v are all wired using extension cords. SUPER easy to work with because of their round shape and flexibility. If you have a local recycling center' go make friends with someone that works there. I paid less than $50 for every wire in my bus.

It's been debated heavily but I feel stranded wiring to be the best in a vehicle that moves and vibrates whilst in motion. Not looking to start an argument, just stating my opinion.
__________________
Passes everything but gas stations.
bamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 08:12 PM   #6
Bus Crazy
 
roach711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, Mi (Detroit area)
Posts: 1,572
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

I used stranded residential wiring in mine 'cause I had a bunch of it available, but if I had extension cords available I would have been very comfortable using them instead. Just be sure to size the wire to the load and you'll be fine.

15 amp load - 14 gauge wire minimum
20 amp load - 12 gauge wire min.
30 amp load - 10 gauge wire min.

Wire that is over sized for the load is fine, wire that is undersized for the load is a fire waiting to happen.
__________________
The Roach Motel
roach711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:05 PM   #7
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 147
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-t-liner
Engine: Cat 3126 - MD 3060
Rated Cap: 72
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

Great information. Thank you everyone who shared their knowledge!!
ThePimentals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:32 AM   #8
Bus Crazy
 
sdwarf36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moodus, Ct.
Posts: 1,054
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Champion
Chassis: Ford e-450
Engine: 7.3 Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 14
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

Yea-I remember that last time this came up someone got the knicker is a knot over it--we gotta remember that there are very few MUSTs + GOTTAs in this game. Everyone's bus + ideas are different.
__________________
Don't make a fuss-just get on the bus!

my bus build http://www.skoolie.net/gallery/Skoolies/Sped
sdwarf36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 10:53 AM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdwarf36
Yea-I remember that last time this came up someone got the knicker is a knot over it--we gotta remember that there are very few MUSTs + GOTTAs in this game. Everyone's bus + ideas are different.
Except for that you MUST do a solid and safe install of your 110vac wiring! You can easily endanger yourself and everyone around the bus by cutting corners on the electrical system.
__________________
My build page: Armageddon - The Smell of Airborne Rust
jazty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 11:46 AM   #10
Bus Geek
 
lornaschinske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Roswell, NM
Posts: 3,587
Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Re: Extension cords for wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazty
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdwarf36
Yea-I remember that last time this came up someone got the knicker is a knot over it--we gotta remember that there are very few MUSTs + GOTTAs in this game. Everyone's bus + ideas are different.
Except for that you MUST do a solid and safe install of your 110vac wiring! You can easily endanger yourself and everyone around the bus by cutting corners on the electrical system.
This is why we oversized our wiring per runs. All our runs are under 20 amps with the exception of the electric water heater. It's on one of our 10/3 cords (just like the dishwasher connection). The nice thing is we know the blue cord in the breaker panel goes to the water heater, the yellow cord goes to the bathroom, the orange cord goes to the freezer and washing machine, the green one goes to the outlet at the fireplace, etc. Made labeling the panel box easier.
__________________
This post is my opinion. It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Fulltime since 2006
The goal of life is living in agreement with nature. Zeno (335BC-264BC)
http://lorndavi.wordpress.com/blog/
http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps0340a6ff.jpg
lornaschinske is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap extension cord to connect batteries vince4242 Alternative Fuels | Electric, Propane, Wood Gasification, etc. 7 11-13-2012 05:14 PM
Wheelchair lift extension dilemna. Any ideas? dentedvw Mechanical and Drivetrains 2 05-22-2010 07:29 PM
Low-Budet Transient Room Extension Griff Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 2 03-27-2009 12:55 AM
Need Help Wiring Hearse Driver Short-Bus Conversion Projects 2 02-24-2009 07:46 PM
50 amp ac wiring captainkf Conversion Tutorials and How-to's 1 10-30-2005 09:12 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.