Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2018, 03:37 PM   #1

First Question...

I've lurked on here for a long time. Thought about converting a school bus, but I figured that the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) was too great to overcome.

Things have changed.

My DW recently saw the documentary "Expedition Happiness" by German filmmaker Felix Starck about building a skoolie with his girlfriend and traveling across America and Canada. It's on Amazon Prime.

My wife thought it looked like a great adventure. We'd already kind of decided to sell the house and go RVing for a few years once our youngest moves out (he's going to college this fall).

So a skoolie has been conditionally "green-lighted."

That leads to what I think is the first question - what size bus should I be looking at?

I'm a retired vet, living on a disability. So money isn't plentiful. I figure the larger the bus, the more expensive it will be to buy, convert, operate, and repair.

So is a short bus the best fit?

It's just going to be myself and my wife. And maybe 2 cats. Big ones, Maine Coons. And possibly from 1 to 3 dogs (approx. 50 lbs each).

Also, to begin with it will a weekender/vacation camper. I plan on keeping it simple to begin with, upgrading features and adding systems as we go.

Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 03:42 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
I have found that all buses, no matter the size are pretty close in price and the only difference in maintenance cost is a smaller bus might get better gas mileage. I actually find shorty's to be more expensive to buy.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 04:13 PM   #3

I did notice that size seems to have little impact on price. But I've just been checking craigslist, and that's probably not the best indicator.