Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-13-2009, 08:49 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1993
Coachwork: THOMAS
Chassis: SAFE-T-LINER
Engine: CAT 3116
Rated Cap: 83
Floor Plan questions

I'm in the process of ripping out the seats and doing a floor plan at the same time. I bought a few of the conversion books. And a lot of reading and looking at pictures.

I have a floor plan drawn up. But I'm trying to figure out the actual size of everything that will be constructed or put in the bus. Is that where "doing a floorplan to scale" comes in? I've never done anything like this before. I know where I want everything placed in the bus. Its just figuring out if its going to work.

I would like to put a couple couches in, so would I go and measure a standard couch to get an idea? Etc.. Etc...

Is there some sort of math formula that I need to use to make sense of this?

If so, could someone give me some sort of sequence for this?

Thanks!!
Dan

BUSBOZO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 09:34 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: Floor Plan questions

There is no formula that I'm aware of... I drew a scale drawing of the bus empty shell, then went around and measured things that I wanted to put into it. Since I new that I was going to use an RV style sofa that is what I measured. The refridge, cabinets & counters, the mattress... everything I measured. Then I made some scale cut-out's of all those items, and placed them inside the bus shell drawing, this allowed me to move a few things around and tweek my design...

In the end, my bus came out at 95% of how I had planned it, only made a couple of minor changes as the build went on...

You just might be a Redneck if...
...your motor home used to be a school bus!
...Your living room has a steering wheel!
...Your home has brake lights

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee
1989 Thomas Diesel Pusher (Cat 3208/Freightliner)
Chesapeake, Virginia