Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-20-2006, 12:06 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Found bus BUT--250K mileage. Is this too high to consider?

I like most everything else about this bus, (diesel pusher, air brakes, new Allison, no rust, belly storage, paint job, seats out, floor laid and more). I have a concern about the mileage (hoped to start with 150K or less).
I'm not a mechanic. Price is also a little high, considering the mileage, but not out of the ballpark. The thing is, I'm soooooo ready. It's close to home and calling to me. Thanks for any feedback.

greyguzziart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 08:00 AM   #2
Bus Geek

that is a lot of miles for most skoolies. I did buy my first skoolie with about 254K miles on it and sold it with almost 300K on it.

what engine is in the bus?

a DT466 could still be in good shape with that kind of mileage on it.....and a rebuild kit is only about $1K

i'm not too familiar with pushers. There was a CAT motor used in a lot of pushers that people have mixed feelings about.

how much are they asking?

i payed $775 for my first bus (72 pass, conventional front end, 6.6 liter diesel, allison auto) and $1,500 for my current bus (72 pass, DT360, ~180K miles)
Old 12-20-2006, 08:55 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Mine had 191,000 on it...runs like a champ. I'm told the old Caterpillar is good for several hundred thousand miles between rebuilds!!!

You just might be a Redneck if...
...your motor home used to be a school bus!
...Your living room has a steering wheel!
...Your home has brake lights

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee
1989 Thomas Diesel Pusher (Cat 3208/Freightliner)
Chesapeake, Virginia
GoneCamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 09:38 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie

250K mileage. Too high to buy??