Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2019, 07:57 PM   #1

Framing/roof raise

I bought an ‘84 full size blue bird. I am interested in cutting off roof above windows and stick framing 8’ high with single pitch metal roof. I’m 6’4 and need to raise roof. I don’t know how to weld but I am a good carpenter. I will loose 7.5 inches in width with framing and drywall but I know I can complete the work and do it well.

Anybody out there done this? Raise roof by cutting off and stick frame? I’d love to hear from you. Advice. Cautions. Pictures. Comments.

Whereslandis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 08:04 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: IH 3800, 8 window
Engine: T444E w/ Spicer 5-speed MT
Rated Cap: I prefer broad-brims hats
Advice and caution in one: Don't do it!!!
Unless it will never move again, wood would not do a'tall.
Not nitpicking, but seeking clarity: Eight inches is what you want to get a rise from, not eight feet..?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whereslandis View Post
I bought an ‘84 full size blue bird. I am interested in cutting off roof above windows and stick framing 8’ high with single pitch metal roof. I’m 6’4 and need to raise roof. I don’t know how to weld but I am a good carpenter. I will loose 7.5 inches in width with framing and drywall but I know I can complete the work and do it well.

Anybody out there done this? Raise roof by cutting off and stick frame? I’d love to hear from you. Advice. Cautions. Pictures. Comments.
When you can, populate your profile with your bus' specs. If you ever need an assist, it helps if we don't have to ask, first.
Welcome to the booby hatch!
Old 07-06-2019, 08:44 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77