Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2018, 09:51 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 3800
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 7 window mid bus
Full timing in a skoolie toy hauler

Hey everyone! New hear. Just posted in the intro as well. I’ve been thinking of a conversion now for awhile but I wanted to get your guys, the experts, thoughts to see if it is even realistic given what skills I do/don’t have.

Background on me:
I currently work as an ICU murse. I have very basic mechanical skills and some basic tools. I took basic carpentry, electrical and plumbing when I went to the vocational school. That has been over 7 years but I’m sure I could brush up with some reading. I have no metalworking/welding skills but have a friend who does. He has also offered to help me with the conversion an even use his heated shop.

My grand scheme:

As a traveling murse my contracts are typically 13 weeks. Then I can take as much time as I want off to adventure in between contracts. The bus would be used as full time living quarters for my girlfriend, two medium sized dogs and myself.

Priorities:
-most reliable engine/drivetrain I can get (willing to pay a bit more to get a good, low miles one)
-ability to tow a vehicle (would like to tow an F150. If not then a Tacoma or Jeep)
-Ability to haul two dual sport or adventure motorcycles
-Where? Inside using wheelchair lift but sacrifice space? Or one on front
and one on back using hitch carriers? Other ideas?
-Ability two kayaks (lots of solutions)
-Undercarriage or roof storage for motorcycle/adventure gear
-A secure place for a couple rifles and a couple handguns (Weatherguard
toolbox bolted to bus interior that doubles as seating is an idea)
-Hookups for state campgrounds (fancy RV parks not wanted)
-Large enough clean water and grey water tanks to boondock for about a
week at a time
-Solar/generator