Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2017, 09:14 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: GMC/Gasser
Rated Cap: 54
Gage metal required for a ceiling hatch

I am replacing an emergency hatch with a piece of sheet metal and attaching an exhaust fan that weighs @ 6 lbs. Would 22 gage sheet metal work for this application? I am not a metal expert and do not know if this is too thin.I tried for 10 gage but the fab shop does not have steel this thick.

Thanks for the input!

chopanegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 09:54 AM   #2
Traveling

Year: 2003
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: 5.9L Cummins
Rated Cap: '00
Quote:
Originally Posted by chopanegas View Post
I am replacing an emergency hatch with a piece of sheet metal and attaching an exhaust fan that weighs @ 6 lbs. Would 22 gage sheet metal work for this application? I am not a metal expert and do not know if this is too thin.I tried for 10 gage but the fab shop does not have steel this thick.

Thanks for the input!
It's work, but is too thin. I'd go 16 Ga, but most here will tell you 18 Ga is fine.

10 Ga is a pita for small shops to work.

ga.gif
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 10:10 AM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Engine: 8.3 Cummins, 643
I will second Rusty on 16 gauge metal. It does not seem to have the flex problems that 18 does, I replaced all the windows and covered the vents on my last bus with 16 gauge and there was no ripple in the metal. I riveted the patches into place on the roof and it was the strongest part since there were two layers Where they overlapped. Would be nice to have that added strength around the fan or AC. The roof on my Blue Bird would bow in when I stepped between the ribs.
Jacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 10:54 AM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird